BTW News Briefs

    2017 Pannell Award winners revealed; Lerner to distribute Lantana; Simon & Schuster launches #WhatBeachWhatBook; Publishers Lunch releases Buzz Books; Nebula Award winners, CLMP Firecracker Award finalists announced

    Mike Bamberger, Free Speech Defender

    ABFE Director Chris Finan looks back at some of the many cases in which Michael Bamberger, general counsel of Media Coalition and the first recipient of the Joyce Meskis Free Speech Award, has defended the free speech rights of booksellers.

    BTW News Briefs

    Authors Guild online auction underway; Museum Store Association to launch holiday campaign; Ingram signs five publishers; Reading Group Choices releases title lists of readers’ favorites; Margarita Engle named Young People’s Poet Laureate; International Dylan Thomas Prize, Albertine Prize winners announced

    2017 Indies Choice and E.B. White Read-Aloud Award Winners Announced

    Booksellers at independent bookstores nationwide have chosen the winners of the 2017 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards in eight categories.

    BTW News Briefs

    Utah sales tax revenues up after Amazon rule change; Opposition to Amazon buy button rule; Wiley CEO resigns; Best Translated Book Award, Judith A. Markowitz Award, British Book Award winners announced; Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist revealed

    BTW News Briefs

    Barbershop Books wins Innovations in Reading Prize; Ingram to distribute Fodor’s Travel; Consortium adds four publishers; B&N names CEO; HarperCollins launches #WhyIRead; Winners announced: Anna Dewdney Award, Edgar Allan Poe Awards, Triangle Awards

    Around Indies

    Books Are Magic opens in Brooklyn; Bookmarks breaks ground on storefront; Tribeca GalleryCafé & Books to open second location; Saturn Booksellers on the move; BookPeople of Moscow, Gibson’s Bookstore named “Best Of”; Bookie’s Paperbacks raises funds for accessible bathrooms

    Voting Deadline for Indies Choice Book Awards Extended & an Author’s Note to ABA Members

    ABA has extended the voting deadline for the Indies Choice and E.B. White Read-Aloud awards and has shared a letter from author Jacqueline Davies about a Picture Book Hall of Fame nominee.

    BTW News Briefs

    Man Booker announces shortlist; Ingram promotes, adds staff; Rich Thomas joins HarperCollins Children’s; YouTuber joins BookCon; Lambda Literary Awards to honor Woodson, Winterson; L.A. Times Book Prize winners

    ABA Board Ballot Deadline May 2

    The deadline for ABA main store members to vote in the 2017 Board of Directors elections is this Tuesday, May 2.

    Nominees for 2017 WNBA Pannell Awards Announced

    The nominees for the Women’s National Book Association’s 2017 WNBA Pannell Awards include 18 general bookstores and 19 children’s specialty bookstores.

    BTW News Briefs

    Best Children’s Books of the Year published; PRH launches #ProjectReadathon; Johns Hopkins University Press to support AAUP residencies; Books for a Better Life, Jackson Poetry Prize winners, Southern Book Prize finalists announced

    AAP to Honor Hong Kong Publisher Imprisoned in China

    Attendees at the annual PEN America dinner on Tuesday, April 25, will pause to honor Gui Minhai, the Hong Kong publisher and bookseller who is being held without charge on the Chinese mainland.

    Vote Now to Choose Indies Choice/E.B. White Read-Aloud Award Winners

    The owners and staff at all ABA member stores are invited to cast their ballots to choose the winners of the 2017 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards. The voting deadline is April 30.

    Winners Announced for Pulitzer Prizes and More

    Among the literary award winners announced this week are the recipients of the 2017 Pulitzer Prizes and the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Literature Awards.


    Follow ABA