Indies Introduce

Middle Grade

  • Wildoak, C.C. Harrington
    Scholastic Press, 9781338803860, September 20, 2022 (Middle Grade)

    “Such a wonderful book of animals and the magic of nature. I was brought to tears too many times, remembering what it was like to struggle in a world that couldn’t listen. I loved this book and can’t wait for another generation of readers to fall in love with reading because of this magical story.”

    - Revati Kilaparti, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

    “When Maggie’s parents send her to her grandfather’s house in the hopes that fresh air will help her stutter, she never expects to find a snow leopard cub in the forest — or to be the only person who can save him. Set in 1960s England, this dual-narrative middle grade debut is both powerful and charming. A perfect read for fans of Katherine Applegate and Sara Pennypacker.”

     
    Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books, Rhinebeck, NY

    “This debut middle grade novel captured my entire heart! We follow a young girl with a stutter and a deep love for animals, and a baby snow leopard who finds himself lost in a magical forest. Set in London in the 1960s when stutters were seen as a ‘problem’ that needed to be fixed, Maggie finds the snow leopard and will stop at nothing to make sure he is safe. This book is like drinking a warm cup of tea.”

    - Joseline Diaz, Kepler’s Books, Menlo Park, CA

     

    “It’s 1960s England, and most people aren’t comfortable with Maggie’s stutter, not even her father. When Maggie talks to animals, she has no trouble speaking at all — so it’s a relief when her parents send her to her grandfather’s house in the country, all farmlands and forest. There’s another new face in Wildoak, too: Rumpus, a snow leopard cub that was bought as an exotic pet and quickly abandoned in the woods. In this world where one’s voice can't always be heard, Maggie and Rumpus tentatively form an unlikely friendship that will change both of their lives. This engaging and heartfelt novel is perfect for fans of Pax and other stories that explore the bonds between animals and people.”

     

     

    Andrew King, Secret Garden Bookshop, Seattle, WA

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

MEMBER and MEMBERSHIP INQUIRIES: info@bookweb.org

PRESS INQUIRIES: ray@bookweb.org

INDIECOMMERCE: staff@bookweb.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: info@BookWeb.org

 

 

Copyright 2022 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement