50 Authors to Participate in Celebration of Bookselling Luncheon

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Fifty of independent booksellers' favorite authors will be at this year's ABA Celebration of Bookselling Luncheon at BookExpo America. The Friday, May 29, event, open exclusively to the owners and staff at ABA member stores, will feature the presentation of the inaugural Indies Choice Book Awards (ICBA).

"We're happy to have so many authors whose books independent booksellers have enjoyed handselling this past year join us for the Celebration of Bookselling Luncheon," said Mark Nichols, ABA's senior director of publisher initiatives. "It's guaranteed to be a highlight of the trade show for our members, and we're grateful to these authors, and to their publishers, for making this possible."

Authors participating in this year's Celebration of Bookselling Luncheon are:

Sherman Alexie
Winner, ICBA Most Engaging Author
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

Toby Barlow
Sharp Teeth (HarperCollins)

Annie Barrows
Winner, ICBA Best Indie Buzz Book (Fiction)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (The Dial Press)

James R. Benn
Blood Alone (Soho Press)

Steve Berry
The Charlemagne Pursuit (Ballantine Books)

Cara Black
Murder in the Latin Quarter (Soho Press)

Stefan Merrill Block
Honoree, ICBA Author Discovery
The Story of Forgetting (Random House)

Howard Blum
American Lightning (Crown)

Karna Small Bodman
Gambit (Forge)

Alan Bradley
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Delacorte Press)

Adam Braver
*November 22, 1963 (Tin House Books)

Meg Cabot
Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls (Scholastic)

Kristin Cashore
Honoree, ICBA Young Adult Buzz Book
Graceling (Harcourt Children's Books)

Suzanne Collins
Honoree, ICBA Young Adult Buzz Book
The Hunger Games (Scholastic)

Claire Cook
The Wildwater Walking Club (Voice)

Kelly Corrigan
The Middle Place (Voice)

Mark Doty
Fire to Fire (HarperCollins)

David Ebershoff
The 19th Wife (Random House)

Dexter Filkins
Honoree, ICBA Conversation Starter (Nonfiction)
The Forever War (Alfred A. Knopf)

Elizabeth Flock
Sleepwalking in Daylight (MIRA)

Mark Frost
The Match (Hyperion)

Neil Gaiman
Winner, ICBA Best Indie Young Adult Buzz Book
The Graveyard Book (HarperCollins)

Debra Galant
Fear and Yoga in New Jersey (St. Martin's Press)

Robert Goolrick
A Reliable Wife (Algonquin)

Michael Greenberg
Honoree, ICBA Conversation Starter (Nonfiction)
Hurry Down Sunshine (Other Press)

Paul Harding
Tinkers (Bellevue Literary Press)

Katherine Howe
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane (Voice)

Peter Howe
Waggit's Tale (HarperCollins)

Hillary Jordan
Honoree, ICBA Author Discovery
Mudbound (Algonquin)

Steve Kluger
Honoree, ICBA Young Adult Buzz Book
My Most Excellent Year (Dial Books for Young Readers)

Gordon Korman
Swindle (Scholastic)

Sana Krasikov
One More Year (Spiegel & Grau)

Adam Langer
Ellington Boulevard (Spiegel & Grau)

Melissa Marr
Ink Exchange (HarperCollins)

Raymond McDaniel
Saltwater Empire (Coffee House Press)

Kate Morton
The House at Riverton (Atria)

Linda Sue Park
Keeping Score (Clarion)

Jayne Anne Phillips
Lark and Termite (Alfred A. Knopf)

Aprilynne Pike
Wings (HarperTeen)

Deanna Raybourn
Silent on the Moor (MIRA)

M.J. Rose
The Memorist (MIRA)

Richard Russo
Bridge of Sighs (Alfred A. Knopf)

Brandon Sanderson
The Hero of Ages (Tor)

John Burnham Schwartz
The Commoner (Vintage)

Jon Scieszka
Honoree, ICBA Engaging Author
Knucklehead (Viking Children's Books)

Amy Stewart
Wicked Plants (Algonquin)

Mark Teague
Funny Farm (Orchard Books)

Hannah Tinti
The Good Thief (The Dial Press)

Benjamin Wallace
The Billionaire's Vinegar (Crown)

Mo Willems
Winner, ICBA Picture Book Hall of Fame
Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus (Hyperion Books for Children)

Reservations are required for the Celebration of Bookselling Luncheon, which is now almost booked to capacity. Staff at ABA member stores who are interested in attending should register individually as soon as possible via an electronic form on Bookweb.org. Reservations are limited to two people from each member store.

Questions regarding the luncheon may be addressed to Mark Nichols at mark@bookweb.org.