ABA Announces 2021 Board of Directors Election Results

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The results of the balloting by the bookstore members of the American Booksellers Association to elect five directors, a president, and a vice president/secretary to serve on the ABA Board are now official.

Elected to three-year terms (2021–2024) as directors are:

In related results, ABA Vice President Bradley Graham of Politics & Prose in Washington, D.C., has been elected to serve a two-year term as ABA president, and Kelly Estep of Carmichael’s Bookstore in Louisville, KY, and Christine Onorati of WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn, New York, and Jersey City, New Jersey, will serve as ABA co-vice president/secretary.

In addition, Michelle Malonzo of Changing Hands in Tempe, Arizona, has been appointed after joining the board to serve the remainder of director Chris Morrow's two-year term, which ends in 2022. Morrow, of Northshire Bookstore in Saratoga Springs, New York, and Manchester Center, Vermont, is leaving the board; on Friday, April 30, he announced that he will be selling Northshire Bookstore to new owners Clark and Lu French. 

Also continuing on the board are:

Kenny Brechner of Devaney, Doak and Garrett Booksellers in Farmington, Maine; Jenny Cohen of Waucoma Bookstore in Hood River, Oregon; Kris Kleindienst of Left Bank Books in St. Louis, Missouri; and Tegan Tigani of Queen Anne Book Company Seattle, Washington.

ABA President Jamie Fiocco of Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and board member Pete Mulvihill of Green Apple Books in San Francisco, California, will be leaving the board in May 2021.