ABA Board Ballot to Arrive April 3

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

On Monday, April 3, all American Booksellers Association main store members should be on the lookout for an e-mail from ABA CEO Oren Teicher that includes links to the ballot for the 2017 Board of Directors election and candidate bios.

The ballot includes, for member approval, the names of officers selected by the Board to serve a two-year term (2017–2019): Robert Sindelar of Third Place Books in Lake Forest Park, Washington, for president, and Jamie Fiocco of Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, for vice president.

Sindelar is a current Board director and is coming to the end of a two-year term as ABA vice president. If he is approved as ABA president, the Board will be tasked with finding a replacement to fill his position as a director on the Board.

Fiocco is coming to the end of her first three-year term as a Board director and is up for election to a second three-year term. If she is re-elected to the Board and approved by membership as vice president, she would serve in both positions concurrently.

In addition to Fiocco, director candidates on the ballot, who were recommended by the ABA Nominating Committee and approved by the Board, are Kenny Brechner of Devaney Doak & Garrett Booksellers in Farmington, Maine, and Christine Onorati of WORD in Brooklyn, New York, and Jersey City, New Jersey. This would be the first three-year term (2017–2020) for Brechner and Onorati.

No petitions were submitted by members in support of additional Board candidates; however, in accordance with ABA’s Bylaws, space will be provided on the ballot for write-ins.

The deadline for 2017 Board ballots is midnight EDT on May 2.

The election results will be announced in Bookselling This Week on May 3, and the new Board members will be formally introduced at the annual ABA Membership Meeting, to be held from 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. on June 1 at New York’s Javits Convention Center during BookExpo 2017. The Membership Meeting will be preceded by ABA’s Town Hall meeting from 2:15 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.