ABA Indie Bookseller Lounge to Feature Author Autographings & More

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

This year’s ABA members-only Indie Bookseller Lounge at BookExpo America (Meeting Room 214 at the front of the “200” aisle on the trade show floor) will offer exclusive author meet-and-greets and signed galleys, a presentation of the newest crop of Indies Introduce authors, information on ABA programs and services from affiliated business partners, IndieCommerce education sessions on the Drupal 7 upgrade, as well as a place to relax, have a snack, and meet with fellow booksellers.

The Indie Bookseller Lounge will be open:

  • Wednesday, May 28, from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 29, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. (closed for the ABA Annual Membership Meeting and Town Hall)
  • Friday, May 30, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 31, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Among ABA’s service providers and affiliated business partners with a presence in the lounge will be Bancard Systems Credit Card Processing, the Book Industry Charitable Foundation (Binc), Kobo, LIBRIS Business Insurance, NetGalley, Shelf Awareness, and the W.G. Ellerkamp Paper Company.

This year’s lounge will also be the place for exclusive autographing sessions with some of today’s top-selling authors. Several speakers from the BEA Author Breakfasts will come to the lounge to autograph for ABA members following the breakfasts, and 15 Indie Next List favorites will be in the lounge following Thursday’s Celebration of Bookselling and Author Awards Lunch. Here’s a look at the list of participating authors to date.

Breakfast Speakers Autographing in the Lounge
From approximately 9:45 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. each morning.

Thursday, May 29

  • Anjelica Huston

Friday, May 30

  • Mem Fox
  • Jeff Kinney

Saturday, May 31

  • Colm Tóibín

Author Reception and Autographing, following the Celebration of Bookselling

Thursday, May 29, from 2:00 to 2:45 p.m.

  • Drew Daywalt
  •  Kate DiCamillo
  •  Matthew Forsythe
  •  Alaya Dawn Johnson
  •  Jarrett J. Krosoczka
  •  Adam Lehrhaupt
  •  Anthony Marra
  •  Tom Nissley
  •  Richard Peck
  •  Rainbow Rowell
  •  Holly Goldberg Sloan
  •  Maggie Stiefvater
  •  Jesmyn Ward
  •  Elizabeth Wein
  •  Paul Yoon

To receive free entry to the trade show, booksellers must register as “ABA Members” via BookExpoAmerica.com. For complete details about ABA programming at the show, visit BookWeb.org.