Announcing the 2010 Indies Choice Book Award Winners!

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The American Booksellers Association today announces the winners of the 2010 Indies Choice Book Awards, reflecting the spirit of independent bookstores nationwide and the IndieBound movement.

This year's winners were chosen by the owners and staff at ABA member stores nationwide in more than four weeks of voting. Book of the Year winners and Honor Award recipients are all titles appearing on the 2009 Indie Next Lists.

The 2010 Book of the Year winners are:

  • Adult Fiction: Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese (Knopf)
  • Adult Nonfiction: The Lost City of Z, by David Grann (Doubleday)
  • Adult Debut: The Help, by Kathryn Stockett (Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam)
  • Young Adult: Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)
  • Middle Reader: When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb Books)
  • New Picture Book: The Lion and the Mouse, by Jerry Pinkney (Little, Brown)

Kate DiCamillo was voted Most Engaging Author both for being an in-store star and for having a strong sense of the importance of indie booksellers to their local communities.

ABA members also inducted three of their all-time favorites into the Indies Choice Book Awards Picture Book Hall of Fame:

  • Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day, by Judith Viorst and Ray Cruz (Atheneum)
  • Madeline, by Ludwig Bemelmans (Viking)
  • The Story of Ferdinand, by Munro Leaf and Robert Lawson (Viking)

"Our sincere congratulations go out to all of the 2010 winners," said ABA CEO Oren Teicher. "Every one of these authors has created a truly unique work that independent booksellers have enthusiastically supported and enjoyed handselling during the past year. We look forward to honoring each of them at the Celebration of Bookselling Lunch at BEA."

Five Honor Award recipients were also named in each category, except Picture Book Hall of Fame.

Adult Fiction Honor Award recipients:

  • Border Songs, by Jim Lynch (Knopf)
  • Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin (Scribner)
  • The Children's Book, by A.S. Byatt (Knopf)
  • Generosity: An Enhancement, by Richard Powers (FSG)
  • Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel (Holt)

Adult Nonfiction Honor Award recipients:

  • Animals Make Us Human, by Temple Grandin and Catherine Johnson (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Lit: A Memoir, by Mary Karr (HarperCollins)
  • Stitches: A Memoir, by David Small (W.W. Norton)
  • Strength in What Remains, by Tracy Kidder (Random House)
  • When Everything Changed, by Gail Collins (Little, Brown)

Adult Debut Honor Award recipients:

  • The Earth Hums in B Flat, by Mari Strachan (Canongate)
  • The Piano Teacher, by Y.K. Lee (Viking)
  • The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet, by Reif Larsen (Penguin Press)
  • Still Alice, by Lisa Genova (Pocket)
  • Tinkers, by Paul Harding (Bellevue Literary Press)

Young Adult Honor Award recipients:

  • Going Bovine, by Libba Bray (Delacorte Books for Young Readers)
  • If I Stay, by Gayle Forman (Dutton Juvenile)
  • Leviathan, by Scott Westerfeld, Keith Thompson (illus.) (Simon Pulse)
  • Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic)
  • Wintergirls, by Laurie Halse Anderson (Viking Juvenile)

Middle Reader Honor Award recipients:

  • Al Capone Shines My Shoes, by Gennifer Choldenko (Dial)
  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, by Jacqueline Kelly (Holt)
  • Odd and the Frost Giants, by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
  • A Season of Gifts, by Richard Peck (Dial)
  • Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, by Grace Lin (Little, Brown)

New Picture Book Honor Award recipients:

  • All the World, by Liz Garton Scanlon, Maria Frazee (illus.) (Beach Lane Books)
  • The Curious Garden, by Peter Brown (Little, Brown)
  • Listen to the Wind, by Greg Mortenson, Susan Roth (illus.) (Dial)
  • Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11, by Brian Floca (Richard Jackson Books)
  • Otis, by Loren Long (Philomel)

Most Engaging Author Honor Award recipients:

  • Isabel Allende
  • Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Libba Bray
  • Michael Chabon
  • Abraham Verghese

All of the Indies Choice Book Award winners and Honor Award recipients are being invited to the Celebration of Bookselling Lunch on Wednesday, May 26, at New York's Javits Convention Center. The event is free and open exclusively to two booksellers from each ABA member store. Booksellers who would like to attend should register individually as soon as possible via an electronic reservation form on Questions regarding the lunch should be addressed to Mark Nichols, ABA industry relations officer, at [email protected].