Board Ballots to Arrive Via E-Mail on March 22

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

All ABA Regular Bookstore members should be on the lookout for an electronic ballot for the 2010 election of ABA officers and directors to arrive via an e-mail from the American Booksellers Association on Monday, March 22. All voting is being conducted electronically, as authorized by a 2009 amendment to the ABA Bylaws.

One person per ABA Member ID number may vote, and a BookWeb log -in and the store ABA Member ID number are required.

Booksellers nominated by the ABA Board as director candidates are Sarah Bagby of Watermark Books in Wichita, Kansas; Steve Bercu of BookPeople in Austin, Texas; and Tom Campbell of The Regulator Bookshop in Durham, North Carolina. Bercu and Campbell currently serve on the ABA Board and are both eligible for an additional three-year term.

The Board selected Michael Tucker of Books Inc. in San Francisco and Becky Anderson of Anderson's Bookshops to serve a second one-year term as ABA President and Vice President/Secretary, respectively. Their names and those of director candidates will appear on the Board ballot.

The petition process to add additional director names to the ballot ends tomorrow. There will also be space on the ballot for write-in candidates.

The March 22 e-mail will also include Board candidate bios and information on the Annual Membership Meeting and Town Hall, which are taking place mid-week this year, due to the changes in the BookExpo America schedule. (Preview the bios of candidates nominated by the Board here.)

The Membership Meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 26, from 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m., at the Jacob Javits Convention Center in New York City. The Annual Meeting will be preceded by the Town Hall meeting. The Town Hall, from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., offers ABA member booksellers the opportunity to express opinions and share ideas with ABA Board members and staff in a less formal setting than the Membership Meeting.

ABA members with questions about the elections should contact ABA Membership and Marketing Officer Meg Smith. --Rosemary Hawkins