Board Ballots to Arrive Via E-Mail on March 29

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

All ABA Regular Bookstore members should be on the lookout for an electronic ballot for the 2013 election of American Booksellers Association officers and directors to arrive via an e-mail from CEO Oren Teicher this Friday, March 29.

Earlier today, all main store members were sent an e-mail from Membership and Marketing Officer Meg Smith that explained this year’s election process and provided biographical information on each of the candidates.

One person per ABA Member ID number may vote, and a BookWeb log-in and the store ABA Member ID number are required. All voting is being conducted electronically, and ballots are due by April 30, 2013. Ballots submitted after that date will not be counted.

Booksellers nominated by the ABA Board to serve as directors for three-year terms (2013-2016) are Sarah Bagby of Watermark Books and Café in Wichita, Kansas; Annie Philbrick of Bank Square Books in Mystic, Connecticut; and Robert Sindelar of Third Place Books in Lake Forest Park, Washington. Bagby currently serves on the Board and is eligible for a second three-year term.

ABA’s current vice president, Steve Bercu of BookPeople in Austin, Texas, was named by the ABA Board to serve a two-year term as association president, and current Board member Betsy Burton of The King’s English Bookshop in Salt Lake City, Utah, was named to serve a two-year term as vice president/secretary. Their names and those of the director candidates appear on the ballot. No petitions were received in support of additional candidates; however, there is space on the ballot for write-in candidates.

The election results will be announced at the beginning of May, and the new Board members will be welcomed at the ABA Annual Membership Meeting, which will be held on Thursday, May 30, from 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m., at the Javits Convention Center in New York City in conjunction with BookExpo America. The Membership Meeting will be preceded by ABA’s Town Hall meeting from 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

ABA members with questions about the election process should contact Meg Smith.