BTW News Briefs

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2017 Pannell Awards Go to Bookworm of Edwards, Children’s Book World

The Women’s National Book Association (WNBA) has announced the winners of this year’s Pannell Awards.

This year’s general bookstore category winner is Bookworm of Edwards in Edwards, Colorado; Children’s Book World in Los Angeles, California, has won in the children’s specialty bookstore category.

The awards, which are co-sponsored by Penguin Young Readers Group, recognize bookstores “that enhance their communities by fostering a love of reading.” The winning stores will each receive a check for $1,000 and original art from a children’s book illustrator.

The awards will be presented during BookExpo’s Children’s Book and Author Breakfast on Friday, June 2.

Lerner Publisher Services to Distribute Lantana Publishing

Beginning in August, Lerner Publisher Services will act as the exclusive distributor for Lantana Publishing in the U.S. and Canada.

As part of the new distribution agreement, Lerner Publisher Services will distribute four new Lantana Publishing picture books in hardcover and e-book formats this fall; publication dates for the books will be September 1 and October 1.

Simon & Schuster Launches #WhatBeachWhatBook Campaign

Simon & Schuster has launched the #WhatBeachWhatBook campaign, which will use digital and in-person methods to introduce the publisher’s books to new readers.

Running through Labor Day weekend, the multi-faceted campaign will use video, retail, e-mail, digital content, partner marketing, social media, and street teams to help readers find great beach books. The program will be co-produced with partners, including POPSUGAR.

Visit the #WhatBeachWhatBook website to learn more about the new campaign.

Publishers Lunch Releases Buzz Books’ Fall/Winter Adult and YA titles

Publishers Lunch has gathered excerpts from buzzed-about books scheduled for publication this fall and winter in two free e-books: Buzz Books 2017: Fall/Winter, which presents 40 excerpts from adult books, and Buzz Books 2017: Young Adult Fall/Winter, which contains excerpts from upcoming young adult and middle-grade novels.

The consumer edition of each volume is available via the Buzz Books website, which has easy download links for a variety of e-readers. The trade edition, which includes marketing and publicity information on all of the titles along with click-throughs to read or request full digital galleys on most, can be ordered at or through NetGalley.

2016 Nebula Award Winners Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 2016 Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday, May 20, at the SFWA Nebula Conference at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center.

Winners included All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders (best novel); Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine (Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy); “Every Heart a Doorway” by Seanan McGuire, published by (best novella); and Arrival, written by Eric Heisserer and directed by Denis Villeneuve (Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation).

See all of the 2016 winners here.

2017 CLMP Firecracker Award Finalists Announced

Finalists have been announced in the poetry, fiction, and nonfiction categories for the 2017 CLMP Firecracker Awards, the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses’ (CLMP) annual award series.

A revitalized iteration of the Firecracker Alternative Book Awards originally established in 1996, the new CLMP Firecracker Awards “recognize phenomenal works from independent literary publishers and self-published authors.” In the past, the American Booksellers Association has partnered with CLMP, an organization of independent literary publishers and magazines, to provide indie bookstores with promotional materials for the winning books and magazines.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on June 6 at Poets House in New York City. This year, Publisher and Editor Bruce McPherson of McPherson & Co. will receive the first annual Lord Nose Award, a $1,000 prize to be given each year to a publisher or editor in recognition of a lifetime of work in literary publishing.

See the 2017 finalists here.