Chat With Authors During Virtual Socials at Winter Institute

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Booksellers are invited to mingle and chat with authors in unmoderated, open discussion rooms at the 2021 Winter Institute Virtual Author Socials. The socials will take place on Friday, February 19, and Saturday, February 20.

Each day, 15 author social rooms will appear under the “Sessions” tab on Hopin at the time the author social program is scheduled to begin. Booksellers will be able to click in and out of all 15 rooms as they wish; rooms are divided by genre, and three to five authors will be in each room.

Physical or e-galleys will be available for most of the authors attending the virtual socials; booksellers can request them directly from the publisher in the virtual galley room.

ABA is seeking volunteers who are experienced in events to act as host for the author socials. Interested booksellers should contact COO Joy Dallanegra-Sanger and indicate their availability on Friday, February 19, between 6:40 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. ET and/or Saturday, February 20, between 4:10 p.m. and 5:00 p.m. ET. Volunteers may be asked to assist in a call with the authors in the days leading up to the event. Interested booksellers should also indicate if they have a category preference.

Here is the schedule and author lineup:

Friday, February 19

Debut Authors (Room A)
Shawna Kay Rodenberg (Bloomsbury)
Will Staples (Blackstone)
Caleb Azumah Nelson (Grove)
Rebecca Handler (Unnamed Press)

Debut Authors (Room B)
Kelly Mustian (Sourcebooks)
Jakob Guanzon (Graywolf)
Andrew J. Graff (Ecco)
Cathy Raven (Spiegel & Grau)

Graphic Works
Liniers (TOON)
Simon Hanselmann (Fantagraphics)
Alison Bechdel (HMH)
Charles Johnson (New York Review Books)

Literary Fiction (Room A)
Eddy Boudel Tan (Dundurn)
Maggie Shipstead (PRH)
Martha Cooley (Red Hen)
Rivers Solomon (MCD)

Literary Fiction (Room B)
Kirsten Valdez Quade (W.W. Norton)
Naima Coster (Grand Central)
Pam Jenoff (Park Row)
Chibundu Onuzo (Catapult)

Memoir (Room A)
Jenny Lawson (Henry Holt)
Ralph Blumenthal (University of New Mexico Press)
Chris Gardner (Amistad)
Marc Hamer (Greystone)

Memoir (Room B)
Ly Tran (Scribner)
Joe Kenda (Blackstone)
Shira Spector (Fantagraphics)
Christopher Zyda (Rare Bird)

Middle Grade
Erin Entrada Kelly (Greenwillow)
Dwayne Reed (Little Brown Books for Young Readers)
Les Stroud (Annick Press)
Michael Hutchinson (Second Story Press)

Joshua Greene (Rare Bird)
Elissa Washuta (Tin House)
Melody Wilding (Chronicle Prism)
Anton Treuer (Levine Querido)

Picture Books
Rajani LaRocca (Charlesbridge)
Raúl the Third (Versify)
Jessixa Bagley (Neal Porter Books)
Shannon Hale (Abrams Books for Young Readers)
LeUyen Pham (Abrams Books for Young Readers)

Drew Lanham (Hub City Press)
Hoa Nguyen (Wave Books)
Melissa Lozada-Oliva (Astra Publishing House)
Michael Kleber-Diggs (Milkweed Editions)

Science Fiction/Fantasy
David Arnold (Viking Books for Young Readers)
Kalynn Bayron (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
Kwame Mbalia (Scholastic)
Prince Joel Makonnen (Scholastic)

Social Justice
Carol Anderson (Bloomsbury)
Tamika Mallory (Atria/Black Privilege Publishing)
Caseen Gaines (Sourcebooks)
Kia Corthron (Seven Stories Press)

Young Adult (Room A)
J. Elle (Denene Millner/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Christian Allaire (Annick Press)
Angeline Boulley (Henry Holt Books for Young Readers)
Tashie Bhuiyan (Inkyard Press)

Young Adult (Room B)
Nicola Yoon (Random Children’s Books)
S.K. Ali (Salaam Reads/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Kristen O’Neal (Quirk Books)
Joya Goffney (HarperTeen)


Saturday, February 20

Debut Authors (Room A)
Virginia Feito (Liveright)
Sanjena Sathian (Penguin Press)
Amanda Dennis (Bellevue Literary Press)
Nana Nkweti (Graywolf)

Debut Authors (Room B)
Diane Wilson (Milkweed Editions)
Zakiya Dalila Harris (Atria Books)
Nawaaz Ahmed (Counterpoint)

Graphic Works
Lee Lai (Fantagraphics)
Lisa Rosalie Eisenberg (Street Noise Books)
Matthew Bogart (HarperAlley)
Shary Flenniken (New York Review Books)

Literary Fiction (Room A)
Claire Fuller (Tin House)
Alka Joshi (MIRA)
Anuk Arudpragasam (Hogarth)
Anakana Schofield (New York Review Books)

Literary Fiction (Room B)
Morgan Jerkins (Harper)
Richard Alther (Rare Bird)
Sadie Hoagland (Red Hen Press)
Leslie Epstein (University of New Mexico Press)

Brandon P. Fleming (Hachette Books)
Carol Smith (Abrams Press)
Regina Louise (New World Library)
Alex Elle (Chronicle Books)

Middle Grade
Aimée Craft (Annick Press)
Dan Gutman (Holiday House)
Sayantani DasGupta (Scholastic Press)
Hena Khan (Salaam Reads/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Alan Parks (Europa Editions)
Clay McLeod Chapman (Quirk Books)
Elly Griffiths (HMH)
Jean Hanff Korelitz (Celadon Books)

Kate Moore (Sourcebooks)
Tom Standage (Bloomsbury)
James Hannaham (Soft Skull)
Anna Sale (Simon & Schuster)

Picture Books
Adam Ciccio (Clavis)
NoNieqa Ramos (Versify)
Kao Kalia Yang (University of Minnesota Press)
Shawn Harris (Chronicle Books)

Jayci Lee (St. Martin’s Griffin)
Julie Murphy (Disney-Hyperion)
Talia Hibbert (Avon)
Morgan Rogers (Park Row)

Science Fiction/Fantasy
Cadwell Turnbull (Blackstone)
Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury)
Angela Mi Young Hur (Erewhon)
Sarina Dahlan (Blackstone)

Social Justice
Olivia Laing (W.W. Norton)
Clint Smith (Little, Brown)
Nesrine Malik (W.W. Norton)
Derecka Purnell (Astra Publishing House)

Young Adult (Room A)
Jenny Elder Moke (Disney-Hyperion)
Alice Oseman (Graphix)
Phil Stamper (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
Ray Stoeve (Amulet Books)

Young Adult (Room B)
Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé (Feiwel & Friends)
Davina Bell (Text Publishing Company)
Brittney Morris (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Eliot Schrefer (Katherine Tegen Books)