Entrekin Honored With Small Press Center's Ben Award

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

On Friday, March 26, at the Small Press Center's General Society Library, Morgan Entrekin, the president and publisher of Grove/Atlantic, Inc., received the Small Press Center's Ben Award (formerly known as the Poor Richard's Award) for his outstanding contribution to the field of independent publishing. The award was presented to Entrekin by Grove/Atlantic author, Francisco Goldman. Friday's Ben Award presentation inaugurated the 16th annual Small Press Book Fair, which took place on March 27 - 28.

Morgan Entrekin, president and publisher of Grove/Atlantic, with the Small Press Center's Ben Award.

"The Small Press Center Board chose Morgan Entrekin as the recipient of the Ben Award in recognition of his exceptional leadership at Grove Atlantic -- discovering, supporting, and nurturing important literary voices," said Karin Taylor, the Small Press Center's executive director. "[He has also ensured that] distinquished international writers ... are published in this country. Morgan Entrekin has continued the extraordinary literary legacy of Grove Press, first established by Barney Rosset in the 1950s, and in honor of this continued devotion to excellence, the Small Press Center is delighted to present the Ben to Morgan."

Entrekin said of the Small Press Center honor, "I was touched and flattered. Particularly because of some of the predecessors, such as George Plimpton..... I was honored and touched that I followed George.... It's always flattering to be recognized by your colleagues and peers."

A graduate of Stanford University, Entrekin began his career in publishing over 25 years ago when he went to work for Delacorte Press. In the early '80s, he joined Simon & Schuster, and two years later, began his own imprint at Atlantic Monthly Press.

Entrekin and a group of investors bought the Atlantic Monthly Press in 1991, and the company eventually merged with Grove Press. Grove/Atlantic publishes about 150 titles a year in North America, and 40 books a year under the Atlantic Books imprint in London.

The Ben is given annually as part of the Small Press Book Fair to honor outstanding individual contributions to the field of independent publishing. --David Grogan