New ABA Members Serving on Nominating Committee and BAC

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

New volunteer booksellers have joined in key ABA activities, on both the Booksellers Advisory Council (BAC) and the ABA Nominating Committee. The booksellers were appointed by incoming ABA President Ann Christophersen of Chicago’s Women & Children First, and the appointments were unanimously approved by the ABA Board at its recent May meeting.

The members of the 2003 Nominating Committee are:

  • Matt Miller, Tattered Cover Bookstore, Denver
  • Jennifer Bigelow, Southern California Booksellers Association, Pasadena, California
  • Donna Urey, White Birch Books, North Conway, New Hampshire

The incoming members of the Booksellers Advisory Council are:

  • Barb Wieser, Amazon Bookstore, Minneapolis
  • Dee Robinson, Village Books, Bellingham, Washington
  • George Kiskaddon, Builders Book Source, Berkeley, California
  • Neal Van Um, Joseph-Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati
  • Tamra Dore, Katy Budget Books, Katy, Texas
  • Dan Chartrand, Water Street Bookstore, Exeter, New Hampshire

Ending their terms on the Booksellers Advisory Council were: Bob Summer of Changing Hands Bookstore in Tempe, Arizona; Tim Huggins of Newtonville Books in Newton, Massachusetts; Collette Morgan of Wild Rumpus in Minneapolis; Mary Ellen Kavanaugh of My Sisters' Words in Syracuse, New York; and Dennis Ronberg of Linden Tree Children's Recordings and Books in Los Altos, California.

Kavanaugh told BTW that she was very pleased to have been able to serve on the BAC, which, she said, "really benefits all the members." Describing the BAC as an important "starting point for [helping] set the agenda for ABA." Kavanaugh noted that "not only did I get a lot out of it personally, but I also felt I was contributing to the bookselling community." -- Dan Cullen