New York State’s Plastic Bag Ban Goes Into Effect

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

On Sunday, March 1, New York State’s plastic bag ban went into effect for retailers. The law also allows counties and cities to impose a five-cent fee on paper bags. Although the law is currently in effect, New York’s Department of Environmental Conservation announced last week that it will wait until April 1, 2020, to penalize stores that violate the law.

For more detailed information about New York State’s plastic bag ban, see the resources below.

New York Resources

For questions, email [email protected] or call (518) 402-8706.

In addition to New York, seven other states have passed plastic bag bans. California, Hawaii (de facto), and Oregon currently have plastic bag bans in effect. Connecticut (July 1, 2021), Delaware (January 1, 2021), Maine (April 22, 2020), and Vermont (July 1, 2020) have passed legislation to ban plastic bags and set implementation dates.

Cities and counties across the country have also implemented plastic bag bans and fees.

If you are unsure if your city or county has passed plastic bag bans or implemented fees, search here to find out what laws may apply to you based on your ZIP Code. Additionally, verify what laws apply to your area by searching on your local government website. Most cities/counties/states with bans have a dedicated webpage for their plastic bag bans that provide details, answers to frequently asked questions, and contact information for the appropriate person/department.  

Booksellers in states affected by plastic bag bans are encouraged to email ABA Advocacy & Public Policy Coordinator Molly Bond.