2002 FAB Award Nominees Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Nominees for the seventh annual Firecracker Alternative Book (FAB) Awards, have been announced. The awards honor the best in alternative publishing in such categories as Sex, Drugs, Music, Graphic Novel, and Zine in addition to the traditional categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poety. The deadline for votes is April 20, and awards will be presented at BookExpo America on May 3 in New York City.

Among this year’s nominees are:


The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things by J. T. Leroy, Bloomsbury Publishing

The Impossibly by Laird Hunt, Coffee House Press

Stranger Things Happen by Kelly Link, Small Beer Press

This Shape We're In by Jonathan Lethem, McSweeney's Books

This Too Can Be Yours by Beth Lisick, Manic D Press


The Book of Changes by Kristine McKenna, Fantagraphics Books

Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser, Houghton Mifflin Company

In the Presence of Fear by Wendell Berry, Orion

Underground by Haruki Murakami, Vintage International

You Are Being Lied To by Russ Kick, Disinformation Company


Cunt-Ups by Dodie Bellamy, Tender Buttons Books

Etiquette for Evil by Kevin Sampsell and Ivan Brunetti, Kapow Books

Harmless Medicine by Justin Chin, Manic D Press

I Remember by Joe Brainard, Granary Books

Why the Ships Are She by Terri Ford, Four Way Book


9/11 by Noam Chomsky, Seven Stories Press

The Betrayal of America by Vincent Bugliosi, Thunder's Mouth Press/Nation Books

Digital Resistance by Critical Art Ensemble, Autonomedia

Power Politics by Arundhati Roy, South End Press

The Trial of Henry Kissinger by Christopher Hitchens, Verso Books

For a complete list of nominees, and to vote, visit www.firecrackerbooks.org.