ABA Board Election Underway

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

On Monday, April 2, all main store members of the American Booksellers Association were sent an e-mail from CEO Oren Teicher that included a link to the ballot for the 2018 Board of Directors elections and biographical information on each of the candidates for four director positions on the Board.

One person per ABA Member ID number may vote, and a BookWeb login and the store ID number are required. All voting is being conducted electronically, and ballots are due by 11:59 p.m. EDT on May 1. Ballots submitted after that will not be counted.

Booksellers nominated by the ABA Board to serve as directors are:

Mulvihill is coming to the end of his first three-year term on the Board and is eligible for a second three-year term. Estep and Spring have not previously served on the ABA Board. All three are standing for election for three-year terms (2018–2021).

Graham is eligible to be nominated for the unexpired period of what would have been ABA President Robert Sindelar’s term as a Board member. (The 2017 election of Sindelar as ABA Board President created a vacancy on the Board, which the Board had filled by appointment until the next election.) Graham, who has been serving on the board by that appointment since May 2017, will be eligible for a full three-year term in 2019.

The ballot also includes space for write-in candidates.

The election results will be announced in Bookselling This Week on May 2, and the new Board members will be formally introduced at the annual ABA Membership Meeting, to be held from 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. on May 31 at New York’s Javits Convention Center during BookExpo 2018. The Membership Meeting will be preceded by ABA’s Town Hall meeting from 2:15 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Questions about the ABA elections should be addressed to ABA President Robert Sindelar or CEO Oren Teicher. For a link to the ballot, ABA main store members should contact ABA Member Relationship Manager Daniel O’Brien.