Brownstein and Haslett Win Literary Awards

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Gabriel Brownstein, author of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Apt. 3W (Norton), has been awarded the 2003 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award, as reported by the Boston Globe. The sponsors of the award -- PEN/New England and the John F. Kennedy Library and Museum -- also have announced that Adam Haslett, author of You Are Not a Stranger Here (Doubleday), is the winner of the L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award. Haslett's collection of stories was a July/August 2002 Book Sense 76 pick.

The Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award comes with a $7,500 prize, and the winner of the L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award receives a $3,000 prize.

The PEN Hemingway Award was established in 1976 by the late Mary Hemingway, who was a member of PEN, to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction. The award is funded by the Ernest Hemingway Foundation, which has been administered by the Hemingway Society since 1987. The winner is selected by a panel of three PEN judges. Previous winners of the PEN/Hemingway include Marilynne Robinson, Josephine Humphreys, Louis Begley, and Ha Jin.

The L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award is now a joint endeavor of PEN New England and the Boston Globe; it is named after longtime Globe editor Laurence L. Winship. Previous winners include Andre Dubus, Tracy Kidder, and Anita Shreve.

The awards will be presented at the Kennedy Library on Sunday, April 13, 3:00 p.m. Former Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky will be this year's keynote speaker.